cooking different varieties of māori potato

māori potatoes

How do I cook them?  Oh well, that’s the best bit isn’t it?  Right from day one, one of the things I did before I started selling them was to ensure that I knew a bit about them.  I already had the names, I knew what they were called, I knew what they looked like.  So once I started selling, cooking was probably the next stage.  So some like the huakaroro is a very creamy, waxy potato.  So that’s really perfect for salads.  It’s nice in boil-ups as well, roasted.  So just finding out the different varieties and what they’re best used for, really.  Roasting, frying, mashing.  Moemoe, kataroa, they’re really good for mashing.  Add rosemary, experiment, soup.

No Geneva Hildreth, Nga Puhi

This entry was posted in kai reka, māori potato/riwai/peruperu, Te Taitokerau, Whats happening in your Rohe? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

